The University of Kansas has an active AAUP group. The American Association of University Professors is a national organization for faculty members. According to its website:

The AAUP's purpose is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good.

The president of the University of Kansas chapter is Mohamed el-Hodiri, mohamedelhodiri@gmail.com

Please contact him for more information about current activities at KU, including issues related to the strategic plans.

The chair of Committee A (academic freedom) is Eve Levin, evie1147@yahoo.com.

Please contact her for consultation on matters concerning academic freedom, tenure, and due process for tenured, untenured, and non-tenure-track faculty.

For more information on AAUP, click here: http://www.aaup.org/aaup.

To join AAUP, click here: http://www.aaup.org/AAUP/involved/join/.

Members of the national AAUP are automatically members of the University of Kansas chapter and of the Kansas regional conference (www.aaup-in-ks.org).

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university's programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, Room 1082, Dole Human Development Center, 1000 Sunnyside Avenue, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas medical center campuses).